NFL Awards: Eagles are poised to bring home some silverware while key members snubbed

Jalen Hurts
Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Jalen Hurts scrambles against the New York Giants during the first half of an NFL football game, Sunday, Jan. 8, 2023, in Philadelphia. (AP Photo/Matt Rourke)

The Philadelphia Eagles are days away from meeting the San Francisco 49ers, but the team is seeing some serious hardware come their way to some key members of the organization.

Jalen Hurts leads the Eagles in award charge

To start, Jalen Hurts is a finalist for the NFL MVP award as well as NFL Offensive Player of the Year. Hurts joins Justin Jefferson and Patrick Mahomes as finalists for both awards. The Oklahoma product totaled over 4.000 yards of total offense and 36 touchdowns while leading the Eagles to the most wins in franchise history. While he did miss two games, the former second-round pick has elevated his play to become one of the best players in football.

Hurts isn’t the only Eagle to be getting some serious attention when it comes to awards though.

While Nick Sirianni is not a finalist for NFL Coach of the Year by the Associated Press, the second-year coach won the Greasy Neale Coach of the Year award by Maxwell. The Maxwell Football Club (MFC) was founded in 1935 and is a registered 501c3 Non-Profit Corporation. The MFC promotes and recognizes excellence at all levels of football from youth leagues through the professional ranks. Hurts was also named as the 64th Bert Bell Professional Player of the Award by Maxwell Football.

Offensive coordinator Shane Steichen is a finalist for the Assistant Coach of the Year award by the Associated Press and joins Ben Johnson of Detroit and DeMeco Ryans of San Fran.

Steichen and Hurts may be finalists for some key awards, but a few Eagles also got snubbed. Sirianni not being a finalist for the NFL Coach of the Year raised eyebrows, but he wasn’t the only Eagle to be discarded.

Brandon Graham, a full year after tearing his Achilles put up a career year in sacks and pressures. At 34 years old, the former first-round pick for Philadelphia was not named as a finalist for comeback player of the year. Instead, Saquon Barkley, Geno Smith, and Christian McCaffrey were named in front.

The NFL Award winners will be named during NFL Honors night the night before Super Bowl LVII.

Get bonus bets on Jalen Hurts to win the MVP Award

AP Photo/Matt Rourke