The Philadelphia 76ers’ Top Five Players of All Time 

Despite being one of the oldest NBA organizations, the Philadelphia 76ers are still going strong. After 17 seasons in Syracuse, the Nationals moved to Philadelphia in 1963, becoming known as the Philadelphia 76ers. The Sixers have been home to some of the best players in NBA history, as shown by their three titles and ten retired jerseys hanging in the rafters. In the history of basketball, the Philadelphia 76ers have been home to some of the greatest players of all time. One cannot help but be in awe when one considers all of the great players that have worn the 76ers’ uniform at some point in time.

1. Julius Erving

When Julius Erving joined the Sixers from the Nets in 1977, he had an instant effect and helped lead them to the NBA Finals. In 1980, 1982, and finally, 1983, the team made it to the NBA Finals three times. For many 76ers fans, Julius Erving will always be known as “Dr. J.” He’s also a legend in the NBA. As with Iverson, he played for the squad for 11 years and was a four-time All-Star. In 1980-81, Erving was named league MVP once again, for the second time in a row.

2. Allen Iverson

Allen Ezail Iverson (born June 7, 1975), better known by his moniker “the Answer,” is a former professional basketball player from the United States of America. His NBA career spanned 14 years, during which time he played both shooting guard and point guard. Throughout his career, Iverson was an 11-time NBA All-Star, earned the All-Star MVP title in 2001 and 2005, and was named the NBA’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) in 2001. In 2016, he was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

3. Wilt Chamberlain

Wilt Chamberlain’s three-and-a-half-year season with the Sixers was great. Nonetheless, he is still one of the greatest Sixers of all time. In his three seasons with the Sixers, Chamberlain earned MVP honors in each of those seasons, tying his number of MVPs with everyone else in the franchise’s history. A 27.6-point, 11.4-rebound player for the 76ers, Chamberlain appeared in 277 games for the organization. As a member of the Philadelphia Sixers from 1966 to 1968, he was named NBA MVP three times in a row.

4. Hal Greer

In 1967, the year he won the championship, he finished second behind Chamberlain with 22.1 points. While Chamberlain scored 21.7 points in the 1967 playoffs and Greer had 27.7 points, Greer had six more points than Chamberlain. From 1961 until 1970, Greer appeared in 10 consecutive All-Star games with the Philadelphia 76ers. In 1,122 games played over eight seasons, Greer scored 21,586 points, an average of 19.2 points per game.

5. Moses Malone

With the exception of one season at the conclusion of his career, Moses Malone spent just five seasons in Philadelphia. To be fair, however, his brief time in Philadelphia, particularly from 1982 to 1986, shouldn’t diminish the significance of his contributions to the team’s success. Malone averaged 23.9 points and 13.4 rebounds per game in four seasons with the 76ers, appearing in four consecutive All-Star games and earning a place at the top of the NBA chart each time. In 1983, he guided the Philadelphia Sixers to a 4-1 victory against the Los Angeles Lakers in the NBA playoffs.

Bottom line

A number of variables were taken into account while determining the player’s ranking. Long-term associations with an organization and their importance to a team were taken into account. Online betting can be placed on a sportsbook if you wish to bet on any Philadelphia 76ers matches. The ability to lead a team to a championship and be named MVP were other crucial considerations when deciding who would go down as the best player of all time.

Photo by Kyle Ross/Icon Sportswire