Penn State enter as the Number 1 seed in Big Ten Hockey Tournament

COLLEGE HOCKEY: JAN 11 Penn State at Robert Morris
PITTSBURGH, PA – JANUARY 11: Tyler Love #4 of the Robert Morris Colonials pursues Sam Sternschein #27 of the Penn State Nittany Lions during the second period on January 11, 2020 at PPG Paints Arena in Pittsburgh PA. (Photo by Michael Longo/Icon Sportswire) (Icon Sportswire via AP Images)

With March Madness on the horizon, all eyes are turning to the rinks to see who will and won’t make the cut in this year’s big dance. For Nittany Lions fans, there’s a lot to be excied about.

Penn State will enter as the Number 1 seed in the Big Ten Tournament after they won the regular season championship for the first time in program history. 

The Nittany Lions went 20-10-4 during the regular season, and 12-8-4 in conference play.

The last time that Penn State won the Big Ten Hockey Tournament was in 2017 with a Double OT win vs Wisconsin at Joe Lewis Arena in Detroit on goal from Liam Folkes.

The Goal that won Penn State the Big Ten Tournamrnt

Penn State will face the winner of Ohio State vs Wisconsin in the semifinals on March 14 at Pegula Ice Arena. During the regular season, Penn State Swept Wisconsin in both games at Pegula Ice Arena on October 31 & November 1 & then split the games at Wisconsin on February 14 & 15th.

As for Penn State against Ohio State, they would split both games at Pegula Ice Arena on November 22 & 23, while the games in Columbus it was a TIE on February 7 & then a win on February 8.

The Big Ten Tournament Bracket

An interesting note, one of the NCAA Hockey regionals will be held at the PPL Center in Allentown, Penn State is the host team for the regional. This would be the third time that the NCAA Hockey regional will be played at the PPL Center, previous was 2018, 2019.

The Last time the NCAA Hockey held its Final Four in Philadelphia was in 2014 when Union College took down Minnesota at the Wells Fargo Center.

The Final Four will go to Pittsburgh in 2021 & then Boston in 2022. 

Photo by Michael Longo/Icon Sportswire via AP Images

More from our Sister Sites