A Look Back at 2014 NCAA Frozen Four in Philadelphia

Elsa/Getty Images

It is great when Philadelphia gets to host one of the NCAA marquee events. That is what happened in 2014 when the NCAA Hockey Frozen Four made their debut in the city of Philadelphia at the Wells Fargo Center. In 2019, it would mark five years since that event took place. Let’s take a look back.

The four teams that took part in the event were the Minnesota Golden Gophers, North Dakota Fighting Hawks, Boston College Eagles, and the Union College Dutchmen.

Additionally, the 2014 Frozen Four would feature some of big names in the NHL today. They included:

1. Shayne Gostisbehere from Union College & now on the Philadelphia Flyers
2. Mike Vecchione from Union College & now with the Lehigh Valley Phantoms, AHL of the Philadelphia Flyers
3. Johnny Gaudreau  from Boston College & now with Calgary Flames
4. Thatcher Demko of Boston College & now with Vancoiver Canucks
5. Travis Boyd of Minnesota & now with the Washington Capitals
6. Jordan Schmaltz of North Dakota & now with Toronot Maple Leafs
7. Rocco Grimaldi of North Dakota & now with Nashville Predators
8. Kevin Hayes of Boston College & Now wirth the Philadelphia Flyers
9. Ryan Fitzgerald of Boston College & now with the Boston Bruins
10. Coach Dave Hakstol of North Dakota & now Assistant for Toronto Maple Leafs


In the first game it was Union vs Boston College. Union would win this game 5-4. Some of the goal scorers were Johnny Gaudreau, Mike Vecchione Ryan Fitzgerald. Shayne Gostisbehere, Johnny Gaudreau & Kevin Hays, would each have 2 assists


The second game would renew the rivalry between Minnesota and North Dakota. This was an exciting game as Minnesota would win the game at the buzzer on a goal from Justin Holl for 2-1 win.

There was 17,311 people in attendence for the two semifinal games.

National Championship

The championship game would be the top seeds in their region in  Minnesota and Union College.  This game would have alot of scoring. Shayne Gostisbehere and Mike Vecchione would score as Union would take down Minnesota 7-4 to win their first NCAA Hockey Championship. Shayne Gostisbehere would be named MVP of the Tournamnet.

Best of Shanye Gostisbehere from the Championship Game

Shayne Gostisbehere with the Trophy

There would be a crowd of 18,742 and they were entertained for the championship game. They certainly got their money’s worth.

Now the question is when will the Frozen Four make its Philadelphia return?

Mandatory Credit: Elsa/Getty Images