All you need to know: The Flyers 2020-21 season schedule is here!

Screen Shot 2020-10-03 at 11.43.43 AM
alex mcintyre

After much deliberation, the finalized schedule for a revised 56-game NHL season is here. Here is everything you need to know about the Flyers’ schedule for the upcoming season.

The Philadelphia Flyers will open things up with a home game against the Pittsburgh Penguins on January 13th which is bound to wet the appetite of Flyers fans everywhere! There’s no love lost between these two and after a rollercoaster of goals scored last year (18 goals between the two teams across 3 meetings) this promises to be a spectacle.

Photo credit: NHL PR

The rest of the schedule looks like this:

Day
Date

Visiting team

Home Team

EST

Local Time

Game #
Wed.1/13/21PittsburghPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.1
Fri.1/15/21PittsburghPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.18
Mon.1/18/21BuffaloPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.37
Tue.1/19/21BuffaloPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.47
Thu.1/21/21PhiladelphiaBostonT.B.A.T.B.A.60
Sat.1/23/21PhiladelphiaBostonT.B.A.T.B.A.75
Tue.1/26/21PhiladelphiaNew JerseyT.B.A.T.B.A.95
Thu.1/28/21PhiladelphiaNew JerseyT.B.A.T.B.A.111
Sat.1/30/21N.Y. IslandersPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.126
Sun.1/31/21N.Y. IslandersPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.137
Wed.2/3/21BostonPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.159
Fri.2/5/21BostonPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.174
Sun.2/7/21PhiladelphiaWashingtonT.B.A.T.B.A.188
Tue.2/9/21PhiladelphiaWashingtonT.B.A.T.B.A.202
Thu.2/11/21New JerseyPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.216
Sat.2/13/21New JerseyPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.231
Tue.2/16/21PhiladelphiaN.Y. RangersT.B.A.T.B.A.254
Thu.2/18/21N.Y. RangersPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.266
Sun.2/21/21PhiladelphiaBostonT.B.A.T.B.A.290
Wed.2/24/21N.Y. RangersPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.308
Fri.2/26/21PhiladelphiaBuffaloT.B.A.T.B.A.322
Sun.2/28/21PhiladelphiaBuffaloT.B.A.T.B.A.340
Tue.3/2/21PhiladelphiaPittsburghT.B.A.T.B.A.355
Thu.3/4/21PhiladelphiaPittsburghT.B.A.T.B.A.366
Sun.3/7/21PhiladelphiaBostonT.B.A.T.B.A.390
Tue.3/9/21BuffaloPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.402
Thu.3/11/21WashingtonPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.418
Sat.3/13/21WashingtonPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.433
Mon.3/15/21PhiladelphiaN.Y. RangersT.B.A.T.B.A.446
Wed.3/17/21PhiladelphiaN.Y. RangersT.B.A.T.B.A.462
Thu.3/18/21PhiladelphiaN.Y. IslandersT.B.A.T.B.A.469
Sat.3/20/21PhiladelphiaN.Y. IslandersT.B.A.T.B.A.484
Tue.3/23/21New JerseyPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.504
Thu.3/25/21N.Y. RangersPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.516
Sat.3/27/21N.Y. RangersPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.530
Mon.3/29/21PhiladelphiaBuffaloT.B.A.T.B.A.548
Tue.3/30/21PhiladelphiaBuffaloT.B.A.T.B.A.557
Sat.4/3/21PhiladelphiaN.Y. IslandersT.B.A.T.B.A.587
Mon.4/5/21BostonPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.605
Tue.4/6/21BostonPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.614
Thu.4/8/21PhiladelphiaN.Y. IslandersT.B.A.T.B.A.626
Sun.4/11/21BuffaloPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.652
Tue.4/13/21PhiladelphiaPittsburghT.B.A.T.B.A.668
Thu.4/15/21PhiladelphiaPittsburghT.B.A.T.B.A.680
Sat.4/17/21WashingtonPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.692
Sun.4/18/21N.Y. IslandersPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.703
Tue.4/20/21PhiladelphiaNew JerseyT.B.A.T.B.A.716
Fri.4/23/21PhiladelphiaN.Y. RangersT.B.A.T.B.A.739
Sun.4/25/21N.Y. IslandersPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.755
Tue.4/27/21WashingtonPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.769
Thu.4/29/21PhiladelphiaNew JerseyT.B.A.T.B.A.783
Sat.5/1/21New JerseyPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.798
Mon.5/3/21PittsburghPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.815
Tue.5/4/21PittsburghPhiladelphiaT.B.A.T.B.A.826
Fri.5/7/21PhiladelphiaWashingtonT.B.A.T.B.A.840
Sat.5/8/21PhiladelphiaWashingtonT.B.A.T.B.A.856

Initial takeaways:

As previously mentioned in a piece this week, the Flyers have enjoyed a bevy of recent success against their new divisional opponents, after going a combined 13-5-3 against these teams last year.

There are understandably a lot of double-headers due to the restrictions put in place in order to sustain the season in a climate deeply impacted by the effects of the pandemic. That trend kicks off straight away with a double-header against the Pens and another against the Sabres. This means the Flyers will play their opening four games at home.

They end the season with a double-header against the Caps on the road which could well be a pair of games that carry heavy playoff implications. Washington has long been a problematic team, but they will be without Henrik Lundqvist this season as he battles a heart condition (Sending our best wishes to a truly great goalie) The top 4 teams from each division will proceed to the postseason under the new rules.

The Flyers will get their first taste of the Bruins at the end of January, revisiting a rivalry entrenched in history. From the iconic 1970’s battles, to a Winter Classic Showdown and that 2010 playoff series, here’s to hoping next season presents a change of fortune for Vigneault’s men.

Stay tuned for a more in-depth breakdown of the games and what the future could well hold for the team now that the schedule is locked in.

Photo Credit: Alex Mcintyre

More from our Sister Sites