Virginia Takes down Yale for 2019 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship

Philadelphia: As the entire nation celebrates Memorial Day, the two best teams in College Lacrosse would do battle for the National Championship as Yale Bulldogs who were the 2018 champions took on Virginia Cavaliers from Lincoln Financial Field in South Philadelphia. Yale made the title game by taking down Penn State while Virginia made championship Monday by taking down Duke. Yale

Yale would open the scoring on a goal from Jack Tigh, Virginia would get on the board with two straight goals from Matt Moore who played at Garnet Valley High School and Cavaliers took a 2-1 lead end of the first quarter. The Story of the game was that Virginia was a lot quicker to the ball and getting more shots on goal and Yale just did not know what hit them as Virginia took a 6-2 lead at halftime

In the second half, Virginia would keep the pressure on the Bulldogs and at one point have an 11-4 lead with 6:43 left in the third quarter.

Virginia adds to lead

Yale would enter the fourth quarter trying to make their comeback…

Bulldogs with Goal

but they would run out of time. A crowd of 31,528 would see Virginia take down Yale 13-9 to win the 2019 NCAA Championship.

Time to Celebrate:

The All-Tournament team:

Alex Rode – UVA (MOP)

Matt Brandau – YALE

Dox Aitken – UVA

TD Irelan – YALE

Grant Ament – PSU

Ryan Conrad – UVA

Matt Moore – UVA

Ian Laviano – UVA

Cade Saustad – UVA

Brad Smith – DUKE

The NCAA Men’s Lacrosse championship will return to Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia for 2020.


Yale Coach Andy Shay:

Yale Matt Brandau:

Virginia Coach Lars Tiffany:

Virginia Matt Moore:

Leave a Reply