Brian Dawkins and Donovan McNabb among Eagles nominees for Pro Football Hall Of Fame


The Pro Football Hall of Fame released its list of 94 class of 2017 nominees on Wednesday night and among them were several Eagles players.

Quarterbacks Randall Cunningham and Donovan McNabb are both on the list with McNabb  entering his first year of eligibility.

A starting quarterback for the Eagles between 1999-2009, McNabb led the Eagles to four consecutive NFC Championship games and unforgettably, Super Bowl XXXIX. Breaking almost many QB franchise records along the way, McNabb is undoubtedly one of the greatest quarterbacks to ever play for the Philadelphia Eagles.

Elsewhere, former receiver Terrell Owens, who was a 2016 finalist has been nominated again.

Perhaps most gratifying to Eagles fans, “Weapon X” Brian Dawkins has been listed in his first year of eligibility. Arguably the most dominant defensive player to ever put on an Eagles jersey, Dawkins spent 13 seasons in Philadelphia and was always bound to enter the Hall of Fame, but will he join the immortals this year?

Eric Allen, Seth Joyner, Ricky Watters, Sean Landeta and Troy Vincent make up the other former Eagles nominated.

The voters will shorten the 94-man list down to 25 in November before voting again in January to reach the last 15. The final voting takes place before the Super Bowl.



Mandatory Photo Credit: Jeffrey G. Pittenger-USA TODAY Sports