Flyers 2021-2022 Team Award Winners

Flyers' Cam Atkinson
PHILADELPHIA, PA – OCTOBER 20: Philadelphia Flyers Right Wing Cam Atkinson (89) skates with the puck during the first period of a National Hockey League game between the Boston Bruins and the Philadelphia Flyers on October 20, 2021, at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, PA. (Photo by Gregory Fisher/Icon Sportswire)

Before the season finale versus the Ottawa Senators last Friday, the Philadelphia Flyers announced its team award winners for the 2021-2022 campaign.

Bobby Clarke Trophy (MVP): Cam Atkinson

Cam Atkinson played in all 73 games in his first season with the Flyers. Atkinson was the team leader in points (50), and goals (23) before suffering a season ending lower-body injury on April 12th. Atkinson was a difference maker on offense this season, and was that “shoot-first” type player that the Flyers desperately needed.

Barry Ashbee Trophy (Most outstanding defenseman): Travis Sanheim

Travis Sanheim was the bright spot on a struggling Flyers defense this season. He led all defenseman in points (31) and assists (24). Sanheim was the only Flyers defenseman with a positive plus/minus stat (+9), and he had a team best +11 even strength goal differential. Sanheim also achieved a career best 22:58 average on-ice time this season.

Yanick Dupre Class Guy Award (Presented to the Flyer who best illustrates both character, dignity, and respect on and off the ice): Cam Atkinson

Along with his play on the ice, Atkinson was a class-act off of it. He always knew when to hold himself accountable, and he created a bond between his new teammates. Atkinson saw himself become a fan favorite and team leader since the day he stepped foot into the Flyers dressing room.

Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Trophy (Most improved): Travis Sanheim

Many players came into the 2021-2022 season expecting a bounce back year, and Sanheim was one of them. In a year where most players saw regress, he made progress. This is the second time Sanheim has won this award (2018-19) and it was well deserved again. After struggling during the first-half of the season, he was one of the better defenseman in the NHL during the second-half. Sanheim gained a lot of confidence under interim head coach Mike Yeo, and his play proved it.

Gene Hart Memorial Award (Skater who displays the most heart): Zack MacEwen

Zack MacEwan became an instant fan favorite during his first season with the Orange and Black. The fans fell in love with MacEwan due to his no-nonsense playing style. He played hard every shift and wasn’t afraid to participate in a donnybrook with some of the NHL’s top enforcers. MacEwan knows how to get the crowd fired up and truly embraces the meaning of a “Broad Street Bully.”

Toyota Cup: Carter Hart

Carter Hart was awarded first star of the game four times and the second and third star three times each this season, which gave him 32 points and the Toyota Cup award. This is the second time that Hart has won this award in his career (2018-19).

Hart was the backbone of a struggling Flyers team all season. He played very well given the issues on the defense, and was able to keep the Flyers in games. Hart was shutdown for the season after being injured against the Washington Capitals on April 12th.

(Photo by Gregory Fisher/Icon Sportswire)